Lead us not into Temptation

I know a lot of young Christians who believe Jesus has washed them free of sin and they won’t be self-seeking, they won’t drink too much, they won’t be led astray by sexual sin. Ultimately they fall in to what they believe to be an unforgivable sin, they think if they are really Christians they wouldn’t do that and end up either leaving the faith or feeling incredibly guilty.

One thing that was hard for me to grasp was Jesus’ experience with temptation. He was very hungry, and was offered the chance to do a miracle to give Hi something to eat something to eat. It appears like He responds immediately: and perhaps He did, but He may have taken time to consider His actions. He knew He would not sin, but He must have really wanted to do it. And for our sake He didn’t.

It’s not a sin to be tempted; the sin is doing the thing you should not do. I was once in a situation that I knew was wrong and I frequently told God that if I was put in that situation I would do it. I got put in that situation. I fell very hard and didn’t understand why.

If I had regularly read the Word, I do not believe I would have gone through with it.

Even if you don’t struggle with your moods, like I do, there is a great temptation to despair. It’s normal, however difficult, when you hurt, to maintain hope. When hope is gone, however, it’s easy to ask for more, it’s less easy to believe that the hope will never come. David called out over and over again and he left like he had not received an answer. He said:

My God, my God, why have You forsaken me?
Far from my deliverance are the words of my groaning.
my God, I cry by day, but You do not answer;
And by night, but I have no rest.

Romans teaches “All have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.” He’s not talking only about a non-Christian’s life, he’s talking about all of us. Why do I think this happens? So God can express His mercy and love and to prove His goodness beyond what we can ask or imagine.

Better men and women have fallen harder than I have, and will continue to do so. David seduced a married woman. When things became complicated he arranged for her husband to be killed. He was forgiven. So are you. It’s that simple.

Leave a Reply

