Susan Boyle

I loved watching Susan Boyle on youtube and probably watched her ten times. I saw her on Larry King live (also youtube) and listened to her tapes. I could probably do it again and again and probably will.

Numerous journalists describe her as an “underdog”. When she walked out on the stage, shaking her hips and being sassy, most of us were expecting an off key rendition on “Happy Talk”. We were suprised.

But here’s my issue with the whole thing. She has a wonderful voice and apparently knows how to use it without the benefits of vocal coaching. She’s got a great smile and a seems to have a good heart – who would take care of their mother for as long as she did? She is a special woman. ”
The Bible says, “”Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” But how special is she in a worldly sense, really?

Part of her appeal is the wonderful surprise. As soon as I saw Susan open her mouth I was in awe. As I talked to people about her that hadn’t heard of her, I felt like I was the one who discovered her. She was one of those beautiful on the inside folks we always want to meet.

But, like I said above, there is a problem. I think a big part of her appeal is the element of surprise. She’s good, no doubt, We’re not going to be too suprised by whatever her next project is, unless she greatly outdoes herself. Is she good enough to record an album as enchanting as her first public performance? Or will we get tired of her and her frumpy ways? I don’t know.

Folks are up in arms about her new outfit – but who can blame her? She wasn’t famous before and now she is pretty famous. And the reason we were so taken with her because she looked quite unlike her voice. Are we so shallow that we won’t like her with a pleather jacket and a new haircut? (The haircut hasn’t materialized – not yet.) I think we might be.

Leave a Reply

