What I must really want

I got this activity from my “stress management group”.  It’s really about help for folks like me with mood disorders and we do “mindfulness” exercises almost every time we meet.  Here is the one we did last night.

1.)  What do you want?

I want a shelf full of books with my name on the binding.

3.)  What must you do to get it?

I must spend more time every day writing, reading the Bible and praying.  I must be open to sharing my work and making contacts.

4.)  So what you really want is….  to be busy, using my gifts and enjoying the work and the accomplishment.

move on…

1.)  So what you really want is…

to be busy, using my gifts and enjoying the work and the accomplishments

2.)  What must you do to get it?

I must have things to do that I excel at that give me a sense of accomplishments an deven some sense of completion.

3.)  How will you feel if you get it?

Restful, peaceful energetic, joyful, generous and spiritual.  I will want to help others.

4.)  So what I really wants is….

to be peaceful.  To get rid of the restlessness that stalks me.  I’d feel at pea ce but also full of energy – but not manic.  I’d be reliably joyful and generous and spend more time with God and friends.

1.)  So what I really want is….

see the answer above.

2.)  What must you do to get it?

Work at peace.  Take meds but don’t overly rely on them.  Run, lift weights, and practice yoga to handle the stress and tension in my life.  Rest instead of being restless.  Look at beautiful things.  Find new things to love and make me laugh.  Give.  Play with my daughter and cultivate a life of joy and spirituality with my family.

Is the point of this exercise to forget about my number 1 dream?  I don’t think so.  I think the point is that it’s possible to have a good life without having the number one thing.

Leave a Reply

