You can’t do that anymore.

I went to the psychiatrist and complained about my bad memory and gaining weight.  She was ready to whip out her prescription pad and write me a script for Topamax, code name: Dopeamax.  I was on it for about four days.  It was a week or two before my mission’s trip to Mexico, where I was to be the interpreter.  Topamax gave me a terrible problem with word recall.  About four out of five sentences I couldn’t come up with the word I wanted to say.  It would be detrimental to our trip.  I stopped taking it.  Being thin wasn’t that important.

I’m weighing in at about 35 pounds overweight.  I admitted to the doctor I was exercising, but I also was eating whatever I wanted.  She told me:  You can’t do that anymore.

I had lost a lot of weight, but have managed to gain, and keep gaining, too.  I hate it but I haven’t gotten it through my head that my body changes all the time.  It is growing and moving and gaining and losing.  I can’t get to the point I can do ten push ups and jump 500 jump ropes and then stop exercising because I’m fit enough for now.  It doesn’t work that way.  Darn.

Is weight loss a spiritual problem?  I would have to say ‘no’.  God is not waiting up there in heaven with a magic wand deciding who gets to be obese, who gets to be slender and who gets to be bony.  It just doesn’t sound like him.  There is no magic wand.

There is, however, issue taken with the way we eat.  God is not cool with gluttony.  Gluttony is “derived from the Latin gluttire meaning to gulp down or swallow, means over-indulgence and over-consumption of food, drink, or  intoxicants to the point of waste.”  (Thanks Wiki)

I could blame the foods I eat and the foods I sneak, but there is no point in doing so.  I am so overweight because I binge.  I sometimes go to an ice cream shop and get one ice cream sundae, get the second half price and eat them both in my car on the way home.  Sure, my meds can slow down my metabolism, but considering all things, that is not the primary cause of my problems.

Food is so good!  On so many levels, but wasting it, through extreme dieting or extreme indulgence is not so good.  Some Bible verses that explain it better than I do:

Proverbs 23:2 challenges us to “Put a knife to your throat if you are given to gluttony.”

Galatians 5:22-23 “But the fruit of the spirit is….self-control”.

Proverbs 23:20-21 says “Do not join those who drink too much wine or gorge
themselves on meat, for drunkards and gluttons become poor, and
drowsiness clothes them in rags.”

Proverbs 28:7 says “He who keeps the law is a discerning son, but a
companion of gluttons disgraces his father.”

The words are pretty harsh.  Of course, so are the dangers of me staying obese….  I’m at risk for metabolic syndrome, WebMD describes it as “….group of risk factors — high blood pressure, high blood sugar, high cholesterol levels, and belly fat — that increases risk of heart disease and diabetes. Diet, exercise, and medications improve it.”  I’m not there yet, but if I don’t stop screwing around I might get there.

One thing I learned writing this devotion is that God is a gracious God.  He’s been gracious in keeping me alive through all I’ve done.  He has made it abundantly clear the consequences to eating too much – he’s not waiting for me to guess – he’s like that a lot.  Oh – and he gave us food, glorious food to enjoy.  I’m at the point now that I know what I need to do, but haven’t applied myself enough to do it.  There is candy in the pantry from my daughter’s friend’s birthday party.  I’ll let you know how that goes.

Leave a Reply

