Enjoy!

I was talking to my dad about the purse my mom had recently bought me from Target. I loved it. No one else had a comment about it (I thrive on compliments and words of encouragement) but I like it.

Problem is, a week and a half later they slashed the price by ten dollars. I’m half silly about money and saving it. I told him I intended to return to the store and get the money back.

He said to me, “Sister, why don’t you just enjoy it?”

Good point. I wonder how many things I don’t enjoy because I am fretting so much. I can be a fretter.

What does the Bible say about enjoyment? “Listen diligently to me, and eat you that which is good, and let your soul delight itself in fatness.” This is refering to spiritual foods, but I think it overflows in to the rest of our lives. Grow, open your mind to all God wants for you, enjoy your life.

This doesn’t really apply to my situation, but I’ll quote it anyway. Phillipians says, “I know both how to live in humble circumstances and how to live amid abundance. I am fully initiated into all the mysteries both of fulness and of hunger, of abundance and of want.” Paul wrote this. My husband was being counseled by someone named Eric at a Christian camp. This was a few months before we met. He confessed to Eric that he didn’t like his life. It was a miserable time for him.

Eric thought about it for a while and said, You’re like the Apostle Paul. Think about all he went through. No food, no support from friends, the difficult time of transition from the highly prestigous work of a Pharasies to that of a prisoner, persecuted for his beliefs.

Chances are, Paul was not a happy guy. He did have joy in serving the Lord, but couldn’t possibly have been happy about starving – even if it is for the Lord.

Part of the clue here relies on Paul’s enjoyment of working for the Lord. Could he work and take pleasure from it? Did this overflow in to the enjoyment he had of life?

Is that possible? Can I enjoy things without complications? Can you?

Leave a Reply

