Calling for God

I got this prayer from a site called “Sacred Space”.  It’s run by the Irish Jesuits and that site always serves to calm me.

The more we call on God
the more we can feel God’s presence.
Day by day we are drawn closer
to the loving heart of God.

Your death on the cross has set me free.
I can live joyously and freely
without fear of death.
Your mercy knows no bounds.

I remind myself that I am in the presence of the Lord.
I will take refuge in His loving heart. He is my strength in times of weakness. He is my comforter in times of sorrow….

What feelings are rising in me as I pray and reflect on God’s Word? I imagine Jesus himself sitting or standing near me and open my heart to him.

Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit,
As it was in the beginning, is now and ever shall be, world without end.

The part of today’s devotion that moved me the most is not only that he is my comforter in times of sorrow – there isn’t a person reading here that feelings that way at least a little bit.  What moved me is that His death on the cross has set us free.  I haven’t felt like that these days.  I’ve felt burdened, pushed around and even overwhelmed.  I am not experiencing the freedom I have in Christ, I’m not taking on His yoke, which is easy and burden is light, I’m just feeling self-centered.  I don’t care about my relationship with God these days.  I still pray and lead a Bible study but am not allowing Him to connect with me in a real way.  I’m just not up to it, I tell myself.  I know enough about the Bible to live victoriously.  And it’s true, I know a lot about the Bible, but I’m not getting nourished because I’m not making the effort to spend real time with the Holy Spirit, His arms are not tight around me, of if they are, I’m ignoring the experience.

I am blessed because His mercy knows no bounds, and when I lift up my Bible tonight to study and learn more about the best man the world has ever known, I count on God to meet me there.  He wants to be with me and touch my face.  He wants me to pour out all of the troubles I’ve been having and show me how to handle them.  Then he will be the one next to me as I walk forward to do all he’s teaching me to do.

I might screw it all up, though.  But that’s the beauty of it all.  I’m going to screw up and be reconnected with Him in a new way.  None of these struggles with work and marriage are too tough for God to lift me through it.  That doesn’t mean he’s going to heal my relationship or give me  a good paying job, but it will make me better understand what is means for Him to “be with you until the end of the age.”

death on the cross has set me free.
I can live joyously and freely
without fear of death.
Your mercy knows no bounds.

Leave a Reply

