did you survive?

How did Thanksgiving go?  Mine was great except for the weird food my aunt cooked.  She usually makes great mashed potatoes but instead she blended in cheese and green onions and God knows what else.  I was a bit of a jerk and didn’t eat any in protest.  But everyone was too busy to notice my boycott.  

The event was without incident.  It was even nice.  Nothing to report, though.  I kinda wish I did, ya know, I could empathize.  But no empathy this year.  Maybe Christmas.

We went to Black Friday, Mr Malakoa and I.  We had a lot of fun.   We got the widget I was afraid we wouldn’t.  We found $87 cartridges for $30.  None of the stores were really crowded.  We laughed a lot at and with each other, held hands and let each other buy stuff.  It was the most fun we’d had together in a long time.

We go on “dates” about once every three months.  It’s expensive to pay for a babysitter so we don’t usually do it.  The problem is, though, is time alone, away from the house and chores and telephone calls.  (Lots of commas in the previous sentence.)  I remember what I like about him, what I love about him.  He’s funny, so handsome, and so darn smart.  I wish I would remember to treat him like that all the time, but I don’t.  We become adversaries during our regular lives.  I get p.o.ed about the time he spends on just about everything leisure.  He gets upset with me for not doing chores.  We try to cuddle and a five year old roots herself in between us.  It’s a wonderful life, just a difficult one, and dates allow us to escape all that junk.  We should get out more often.  It reminds me that I’m not going to suffer thirty years of misery.

I’ll add another post later on today.  So little to report this morning.  In a good way.

One response to “did you survive?

  • Mai

    I survived! We went to visit my grandfather-in-law. In the past he has been quite cruel and frequently acts superior. He and his wife seem to find enjoyment in criticizing others over small habits. On previous visits, I have responded both with groveling and vocal righteous indignance. Neither worked. (I’m codependent, in case you couldn’t tell).

    This year, I planned ahead of time what I would do if a certain situation arose. Although he was on much better behavior (and didn’t make a single flatulence-related or sexually inappropriate joke), he did criticize me for saying “you know” too often. At first I tried to deal with it with humor, but when he kept saying, “No, I don’t know” each time, I finally dealt with it head on. I told him that it was very difficult to have a conversation when I was having to select my words so carefully for fear of saying this habitual phrase and being called out for it. He said, “Well, we won’t do it anymore.” And he didn’t! The boundary setting worked! Hooray!

    Our kids had so much fun, and the conversations were pleasant enough, that we went back the next morning for a “donkey ride” (on the tractor). In previous years I had literally gotten so worked up over his rudeness that I had dug my fingernails into my husband’s hand. I inflicted pain on no one this year over his antics. Not even myself. Now that’s what I call progress!

Leave a Reply

