I was going to quit

I was ready to totally quit this blog thing.  I missed a week + and I always have the feeling that no one ever reads this anyway.  Along comes “Eddie”  who leaves me two awesome, thankful comments on previous posts.  Now I feel compelled to write, so write I will.

I made a list of things I have to do to be as well as possible.  I’ve got some low grade depression so I’m not really on top of it, but here is what I need to do to be healthy.

1.  Take more than a dozen pills a day.

2.  Go to the psychiatrist.  If you don’t like her, find another one.

3.  Go to the psychologist.  If you don’t like him, find another one.

4.  Meditate on things like whales, white roses.

5.  Daily exercise.  As hard as I can.  For some people it’s a walk down to the corner and back.  For me it’s kettlebells every other day.  Do what you can and do it at least every other day.

6.  Develop a 3×5 system.  For me it’s a little box with tabs like:  Passwords, Directions, and To Go.  Passwords lists all my internet/ATM passwords.  Directions is self explanatory.  To Go is filled with cards that describe what I need to take Small to the beach, gymnastics, and even getting out the door with everything I need.  If you think this is too silly, you do not have ADHD.

7.  Limit potentially obsessive behavior (computer, tv)

8.  Do not carry cash or credit cards.  Ask Mr M before you buy anything.

9.  Eat paleo.  Lots of veggies, nuts, meats, fruits.

10.  Remember Dialectical Behavioral Therapy strategies.  Review them.  Use them.

11.  Keep a log (a calendar will be fine, or there is one in the book “Bipolar Survival Guide” and write down your emotions or behaviors, and change in medication and especially any sharp change in mood.

12.  Avoid people who constantly piss you off.  If it’s a boss or co-worker and you don’t like your job anyway, find a new one.  If it’s a relative, make sure you don’t sit next to him or her.

13.  Don’t drink.  At all, ever.  I still miss it and could easily down a bottle of champagne right now, but that is the problem.  Those of us with OCD or  problems with alcohol need to quit.  Both of my hospitalizations are linked to alcohol.

14.  Dress and attend to grooming.  New underwear every day.  I believe it was Coco Chanel who said it was just good manners to fix yourself up.  If you can, do it.  You will probably feel better.

15.  If you’re cycling or depressed don’t read the newspaper, watch stores from WWII or any other scary or sad things.  You won’t be in this sort of world where you’re going to stick your head in the ground forever, you just don’t need that push over the head.  Not now.

That’s it for me.  Do you have other tips to share?

One response to “I was going to quit

  • Edde

    Thanks for not giving up on your blog 🙂

    That’s quite a list… I am OBSESSED with list-making, but I have a tendency to make such LONG lists that I completely overwhelm myself. What I’ve found that works for me is writing all of my goals down, and then breaking them up into manageable chunks. Then I pick like three of those chunks to work on a time (usually it takes me 2-3 weeks to feel consistent). When I feel I’ve mastered those, I move on to the next few. Otherwise, I drive myself crazy. My biggest things right now are sticking with therapy and meds, exercising, eating right, and keeping up on my blog. This might not seem like much, but it feels HUGE compared to what I started out with – when I was first starting treatment for my depression, I would feel quite proud of myself if I could 1) get out of bed and 2) take a shower! Now I’m up to exercising and eating and blogging, so my system of “baby steps” has really worked and will hopefully keep working for me until I can take on more.

    Anyways, I think it’s awesome that you have a plan set out for yourself. Keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

