It’s called Vyvanse

I have ADD. Or ADHD. There is no real test, just a number of quizes you can take that will lead the doc to the diagnosis. Mine was well hidden under the bipolar and it wasn’t until my bipolar wasn’t getting better that I was declared ADD.

About a year ago I got Serotonin Syndrome, which can kill you. It’s caused, quite obviously, by having too much serotonin in your body. The doctor handled this by taking me off any drugs that produced any hint of serotonin. It made me suicidal, but in some ways, being suicidal is better than dying.

One of the drugs I went off was Vyvanse. It’s long-lasting, you can’t snort it and it has little possibility for abuse. (If there is anything I love, it’s abuse.) It was snatched away from me along with other fun stuff. I didn’t notice a change as things got so bad any sort of lift was getting better. It was only in the past few months I started to make mistake after mistake and forgot important event after important event. We missed the Christmas pageant my daughter was supposed to be in. My husband went with me to the doctor this time and we were insistent about getting me help.

I took the first hit yesterday and things got instantly better. I was able to finish tasks, work on projects and pay attention in conversations. I don’t know if my judgement has improved but my memory sure has. I think.

Today I feel on top of the world. It’s very good. It’s not on top of the universe, though, so no mania here, not yet. I normally sleep from 9ish to 6:30ish, but today I was able to go to bed at 10 and wake up at four with no sort of penalty. We’ll see if that lasts.

Tomorrow is the last day of my half dose. After that I double it and I hope that will be good.

Leave a Reply

