The Joy Of the Orient

My dad “hired” me to make him individual Christmas cards. I ordered a bunch of stuff from four different companies and the Oriental Trading company stuff came today! I didn’t expect it until tomorrow! Joy! I have a new stash of all sorts of Christmas charms, eyelets, brads, stick on jewels, vellum envelopes and more. Yay!

I am so happy I can hardly believe it. I am so happy I have almost completely ignored my chores. I spent the morning with my friend who came at 9ish and left at noonish. Are you that kind of friend? The one who hangs out with someone for hours without checking the clock or telling the other person to leave? If you are, awesome. If you’re not, doubtlessly you have a small child or a sink to scrub. Or maybe you too hurried and harried. I will allow for the small child reason, but really, does your sink need to be that clean? I’m not talking about weeks or even days at a time of neglect, but can’t it wait just a few hours? If no, why not? Sometimes you have company coming over, but most of the time you don’t. Right?

So today, I am truly joyful. I love my friend, T, and I love making things with my hands that make other people happy. All sorts of good things.

(Adding here serious reflection…. I discovered years ago that I don’t need the mother I dream of to be the woman I want to be. At this point my character has very little to do with her, and everything to do with me. When I figured that out, I became less manipulative and more loving. Interested in hearing what the four of you think about that, too.)

4 responses to “The Joy Of the Orient

  • Ellen

    I know that, and sometimes I know it better than other times, but I also see in me the things I like least in her…. really have to trust the God will CONTINUE and COMPLETE the work He started…

  • Mama Bird

    Oooh, I want that kind of friend. I used to have a friend like that, but we moved. 😦

    As a perfectionist, I like my sink shiny at all times. I get twitchy when people leave water droplets on the spout and don’t push their food waste down the disposal. I don’t like that about myself, but there it is.

    I have a pretty good relationship with my Mama. She is, however, a consummate crafter. She sews, quilts, etc. It took me a long time to not feel guilty about buying first-day-of-school outfits rather than making them. It was really freeing when I let that go.

    • malakoa

      Mama Bird,
      Thank you so much for all your comments. I really appreciate your honesty. I like the idea of having an immaculate house, but any time I tried (honestly) I’ve failed. I love being in a well-groomed home. I also love hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

